Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Sunday, 10-11-2019
Please note that the date for the November talk which was previously shown as 12/11/...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Currently there are 4 vacancies on the committee and that number will rise to 5 in...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Devon FHS is hosting a Mayflower International Genealogical Conference on 29/08/2020...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
QFHS is inviting applications for a Margaret Bennett research award to support...
Posted: Wednesday, 17-04-2019
The Probate Service have announced an 85% reduction in the cost of post 1858 wills...

Events

Tuesday, 19-11-2019
Perhaps a family member played his part in the defeat...
Tuesday, 17-12-2019
Ray Farlow joins us to delve into his extensive...
Tuesday, 21-01-2020
Advolly joins us to take an amusing look at how...
Tuesday, 18-02-2020
Peter joins us to take us on a pictorial ramble around...
Tuesday, 17-03-2020
Alan joins us to look at the role of the Guilds and...

Forum

Saturday, 16-11-2019
Hi Daisy, Nice name / coincidence - my Grandmother was...
Simon_Lewis
Saturday, 16-11-2019
Hi Heather, I am descended from Roger Atcherley on my...
Atcherley.org.uk
Friday, 15-11-2019
Hi. A starting point would be “Shrewsbury – a...
Ian
Wednesday, 13-11-2019
Hi Gwynne, Many thanks for your reply. I have been in...
chris southern
Wednesday, 13-11-2019
Hi Chris,   May I suggest you contact the Ditton...
Gwynne Chadwick