Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Tuesday, 3-12-2019
The Annual General Meeting will take place on 21/01/2020. At that meeting the...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Currently there are 4 vacancies on the committee and that number will rise to 5 in...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
Devon FHS is hosting a Mayflower International Genealogical Conference on 29/08/2020...
Posted: Tuesday, 15-10-2019
QFHS is inviting applications for a Margaret Bennett research award to support...
Posted: Wednesday, 17-04-2019
The Probate Service have announced an 85% reduction in the cost of post 1858 wills...

Events

Tuesday, 17-12-2019
Ray Farlow joins us to delve into his extensive...
Tuesday, 21-01-2020
Advolly joins us to take an amusing look at how...
Tuesday, 18-02-2020
Peter joins us to take us on a pictorial ramble around...
Tuesday, 17-03-2020
Alan joins us to look at the role of the Guilds and...
Tuesday, 21-04-2020
How do you cope with a murder in your family history?...

Forum

Monday, 2-12-2019
Hi Vic, Apologies but I have not logged onto the Shropshire...
Cliveeg
Monday, 25-11-2019
London ELISHA family were resident in Southwark, London...
David Elisha
Tuesday, 19-11-2019
Hello Alan Looking at the online voters registers there...
Michael J Hulme
Saturday, 16-11-2019
Hi Daisy, Nice name / coincidence - my Grandmother was...
Simon_Lewis
Saturday, 16-11-2019
Hi Heather, I am descended from Roger ATCHERLEY on my...
Atcherley.org.uk