Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Thursday, 19-11-2020
Following a review of how we are complying with the latest Data Protection...
Posted: Thursday, 19-11-2020
The Guild of One Name Studies has recently collaborated with the Local Population...
Posted: Thursday, 19-11-2020
The research team at the University of Newcastle in Australia (Drs Shaw, Donnelly,...
Posted: Sunday, 8-11-2020
Although the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Shropshire Family History Society...
Posted: Sunday, 8-11-2020
In light of the recent government announcement advising of another national lockdown...

Events

Tuesday, 15-12-2020
Ian joins us in a virtual capacity to talk to us about...
Tuesday, 19-01-2021
Karen will join us to talk about how a Bridgnorth...
Tuesday, 16-02-2021
Brian will join us to talk about the postal history of...
Tuesday, 16-03-2021
Graham will join us to talk about how a group of...
Tuesday, 20-04-2021
Dr George Nash will join us to talk about monumental...

Forum

Saturday, 28-11-2020
Hello Ken I know from another source that the gentleman who...
Michael J Hulme
Saturday, 28-11-2020
Reading this series of posts - is 'Pontesbury' who...
Ken Woodgate
Thursday, 26-11-2020
Michael Thank you so much for your response.  I...
Christine Newberry
Thursday, 26-11-2020
Hello Allan I see that the Barrow register on Find my Past...
Michael J Hulme
Wednesday, 25-11-2020
Hi Beth, My 2x great grandfather was John Humphreys...
HelenJH