Shropshire Family History Society

The Shropshire Family History Society was founded in 1979 to provide a meeting place in Shropshire for all those interested in Family History. The Society is now a Registered Charity (No: 514014) with around two thousand members from all round the world.

Membership is open to anyone interested in family history and non‑members are welcome to visit one of our meetings, for a small fee, to become familiar with our activities.

Find out more about the Society.
Get started researching your ancestors.

 

News

Posted: Friday, 24-04-2020
Work is now underway to finalise the June 2020 issue of the SFHS journal.  As...
Posted: Wednesday, 25-03-2020
*** PLEASE NOTE **** There may be a delay in processing membership applications or...
Posted: Saturday, 22-02-2020
*** CANCELLED ***** The SFHS Committee have decided to cancel the 'Drop In'...
Posted: Monday, 17-02-2020
The Friends of the Shropshire Archives and the Shropshire Mayflower Children Group...
Posted: Monday, 17-02-2020
There will be a day of talks in memory of John Powell, Museum Librarian and IQ...

Events

Saturday, 6-06-2020
The SFHS Committee have decided to cancel the Annual...
Tuesday, 16-06-2020
The SFHS Committee have decided to cancel the meeting...
Tuesday, 15-09-2020
Brian will join us to take a fascinating look at the...
Tuesday, 20-10-2020
David will join us to talk about the D Day experiences...
Tuesday, 17-11-2020
Janet will join us to talk about her ancestor, a...

Forum

Saturday, 30-05-2020
Hi Dan. The Onions family were prominent ironmasters in...
John Sands
Thursday, 28-05-2020
Hello Donna I am not aware of a place currently named...
Michael J Hulme
Tuesday, 26-05-2020
Hello Michael and Heather, Thank you for replying. I will...
djgosling
Tuesday, 26-05-2020
Hello Dave Do you have access to Find My Past?  A good...
Heather Parrish
Monday, 25-05-2020
Hello Dave Have you thought of looking to see if any of...
Michael J Hulme