Committee and other appointments


Mr Peter Grocott
Chairman, Shropshire FHS, c/o The Old Chapel Community Centre, Cross Houses, SHREWSBURY, SY5 6JH, UK
Email: chairman @ (remove spaces to use)

Mr Dave Morris (SFHS), 48 Oakley Street, Bellevue, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY3 7JY, UK
Email: secretary @ (remove spaces to use)

Mr Paul Quartermaine (SFHS), 23 The Oval, Bicton, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire, SY3 8ES, UK
Email: treasurer @ (remove spaces to use)

Membership Secretary (New Members)
Mrs Loraine Hunt (SFHS),
Shropshire FHS, c/o The Old Chapel Community Centre, Cross Houses, SHREWSBURY, SY5 6JH, UK
Email: membership @ (remove spaces to use)

Email: editor @ (remove spaces to use)

Fairs & Electronic Publications
Mr John Ravenscroft (SFHS), 19 Upper Bar, NEWPORT, Shropshire, TF10 7EH, UK
Email: fairs @ (remove spaces to use)

Email: webmaster @ (remove spaces to use)

Monthly Meeting HelpDesk
Mr Graham Williams (SFHS), 10 Lesley Owen Way, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY1 4RB, UK
Email: grahamw @ (remove spaces to use)

Local Interest Books, Gazetteers and Maps
Mrs Sue Tarr (SFHS), 67 Ellis Peters Drive, Aqueduct, TELFORD, TF3 1AW, UK
Email: books @ (remove spaces to use)

Projects Co-Ordinator
Mr Peter Grocott (SFHS), c/o The Old Chapel Community Centre, Cross Houses, SHREWSBURY, SY5 6JH, UK
Email: projects @ (remove spaces to use)

Burials & Marriages Index Co-ordinator
Mrs Joan Gate (SFHS), 12 Adswood Grove, Meole Brace, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY3 9QG, UK
Email: sbi @ (remove spaces to use)


There are currently 4 vacancies waiting to be filled. Please contact the Secretary if you think you might like to join our committee. You will not be expected to take on any specific responsiblity for the Society unless you wish to do so. It will be necessary to attend committee meetings which are held on the 1st Tuesday of each month (except July and August) at 7pm at our Cross House meeting venue.


  • Sir Algernon Heber-Percy, KCVO, JP. 


  • Mrs Ann Kirby
  • Mr Michael Hulme
  • Dr David R Burton

Other Posts


  • Committee & Local Interest Books, Gazetteers and Maps, CD ROM/Data DVDs
    Mrs Sue Tarr (SFHS) - address see Committee Posts above
    Email: books @ or cds @ (remove spaces to use)

  • Microfiche & Photocopies (as advertised in Publications Catalogue)
    Mrs Ruth Wilford (SFHS), 68 Oakley Street, Belle Vue, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY3 7JZ, UK
    Email: copies @ (remove spaces to use)

General Enquiries

Mr Dave Morris (SFHS) see Secretary above

Research Queries for MEMBERS ONLY 
Mrs Christine Abram (SFHS), 16 Glentworth Avenue, OSWESTRY, Shropshire, SY10 9PZ, UK
Email: enquiries @ (remove spaces to use)  

Examiner of Accounts
Mr Andrew Fairchild

Exchange Journals (Received from UK and Overseas Societies)
& Library (for details see Online Databases - Shropshire FHS Library)

Mr Graham Moore (SFHS), 5 Sandringham Court, Porthill, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY3 8LL, UK
Email as appropriate: library @ (remove spaces to use)

Family History Bookstall
Mrs Nadine Shearman (SFHS), 24 Pendil Close, Wellington, TELFORD, TF1 2PQ, UK

Look-Ups (from Original Parish Register Microfiche) for MEMBERS ONLY
(Please include your Membership Number in any request)
Mrs Christine Abram - see Research queries above

Members Interests Index and Pedigree Charts
Mr John Jennings (SFHS), 21 Belvidere Rd, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire SY2 5LS, UK
Email: members_interests @ (remove spaces to use)

Membership Records, Strays and Gift Aid Donations
Mr John Shearman (SFHS), 24 Pendil Close, Wellington, TELFORD TF1 2PQ, UK
Email: strays @ (remove spaces to use)

Open Day Organiser is currently the whole Committee
Email: sfhsfair @ (remove spaces to use)

Monthly Meeting Talk Recording Archivist
Email: treasurer @ (remove spaces to use)

Certificate Collection/Exchange
Mrs Christine Head (SFHS), 34 Porthill Gardens, SHREWSBURY, Shropshire, SY3 8SQ                           Email: xchangecerts @ (remove spaces to use)

Email: publicity @ (remove spaces to use)

Parish Registers (Indexed Printed Transcripts in Book Form)
Email: pprbooks @ (remove spaces to use)

Programme Secretary
Email: speakers @ (remove spaces to use)

Subscription Renewals
Mr David R Burton (SFHS), Hillview, Llangynog, OSWESTRY, Shropshire SY10 0EP, UK
Email: subs_renewals @ (remove spaces to use)